Congratulations to the 2018 Public Policy Leadership Award Winners!

Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT)

Congressman Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-IL)

This two-pronged award recognizes a legislator and an advocate who works in public policy in a nonpartisan capacity to reflect that enacting gender-friendly government policies at a state or national level requires a synergy between the two groups. These recipients have a record of accomplishment in advancing public policy agendas, have served as a mentor to many, and have shown courage to pioneer new ways to promote gender equity despite the risk of resistance.

Purpose: To honor a person who is working to promote access, equity and diversity in government policies at the national or state level.

Eligibility: Any person who works in public policy or the public sector.  He or she does not need to be a NAPE member.

Number Given:  2

Ideal Candidate:  Any person who has accelerated or advanced policy that benefits underserved or underrepresented populations to become better educated and more likely to be self-sufficient.

Selection Criteria: Candidates will be judged based on their embodiment of the NAPE values:

Past Winners: Senator Patty Murray(D-WA) (2017),  Senator Maize Hirono (D-HI) (2017),  Senator Maize Hirono (D-HI), Congresswoman Susan Davis (D-CA), Congresswoman Susan Davis (D-CA)  Congressman John Kline (R-MN) (2016); Congresswoman Marcia L. Fudge (D-OH) (2016); Senator Rob Portman (R-OH) and Senator Tim Kaine (D-VA), Co-Chairs of Senate CTE Caucus (2016); Congressman Ruben Hinojosa (D-TX) (2015) and the Congressional Career and Technical Education Caucus (2015); Senator Patty Murray (D-WI) (2014) and Congressman Robert “Bobby” Scott (D-VA) (2014);  Senator Tom Harkin (D-IA) (2013) and Susan Rees (2013); Senator Barbara Mikulski (2012) and Lisa Maatz, AAUW (2012)