Save the Date!

The National Summit for Educational Equity (formerly Professional Development Institute) is scheduled for April 12-14, 2016, at The Westin in Alexandria, VA.

This national conference focuses on access, equity, and diversity in education, particularly CTE, and the workforce and builds the capacity, knowledge, and skills of administrators, educators, and counselor of state and local education agencies. The PDI brings together the most current researchers and practitioners in educational equity to share best practices and build a learning community of professionals.

[divider top=”0″]

Highlights from the 2015 Professional Development Institute

The 2015 Professional Development Institute took place April 21-23, 2015, in Alexandria, VA. The highlights were captured in our Twitter Storify and our picture slideshow.

Agenda at a Glance (see Program Book for details and Workshop Webpage for PDFs)

Sunday, April 19
9-5 Education Foundation Board Meeting
3-7 Workshop for Prospective Consultants (separate registration required)

Monday, April 20
9-5 STEM Equity Pipeline Leadership Institute
9-5 Pre-conference Session: Micromessaging to Reach and Teach Every Student
5-7 New Member Reception
7-9 Consultant Reception

Tuesday, April 21
7 Registration Opens
7:30-8:30 Continental Breakfast
8:15-9 Opening Session with Representatives from San Jose High School
9:15-12 Workshops
12-2 Awards Luncheon with Estella Mims Pyfrom (Learn about the 2014 award winners)
2:15-5 Workshops
2-5 Business Alliance Council Meeting
5:30-7 Silent Auction and Reception

Wednesday, April 22
8 Travel to Public Policy Day on Capitol Hill
8:40-9:15 Continental Breakfast
9:15-12:30 Public Policy Day Program
1:30-5 Members Visit with Legislators
4-6:30 NAPE Executive Committee Meeting
7 Special Activity

Thursday, April 23
7:30-8 Continental Breakfast
8-9 Membership Meeting
9:15-12 Workshops
12-1:30 Closing Luncheon with Anton Treuer, PhD
2-5 Trainers in Training Meeting

[divider top=”0″]

2015 Keynote Speakers

Kiva Uhuru PictureTara Sikorski picture_jsaF. Osman PictureEaton Picture_2.19.15_jsa




During the opening session on Tuesday, April 21, three current and former students and one faculty member from San Jose High School (SJHS) in California, Emma Eaton, Fadumo Osman, Tara Sikorski, and Kiva Uhuru, will present mini-talks based on the “Nontraditional Career Preparation: Root Causes and Strategies” framework. With funding from Motorola Solutions Foundation, NAPE has conducted Program Improvement Process for Equity training with a team of faculty and students at SJHS. In June 2014 the students organized and led a STEM Equity Awareness event attended by more than 200 people, and in November 2014 they presented on their experiences during the Project Lead the Way Summit.

Estella Mims PyfromEstella Mims Pyfrom will deliver remarks on April 21. Ms. Pyfrom is a former educator and CEO and founder of Estella’s Brilliant Bus, an organization aimed at helping children in underserved areas get educational training, empowering experiences, and access to technology. Ms. Pyfrom has received many honors for her work, including the CNN Hero award and the Toyota Standing O-Vation award.

Anton Treurer, PhDAnton Treuer, PhD will deliver remarks on April 23. Dr. Treuer is the Executive Director of the American Indian Resource Center at Bemidji State University and author of 13 books. He holds a BA from Princeton University and an MA and PhD from the University of Minnesota. Dr. Treuer will also present a workshop and will hold a book-signing for copies of Everything You Wanted to Know About Indians But Were Afraid to Ask.

[divider top=”0″]


Thank you to our 2015 sponsors!

Silver Level

Current_Cisco_Logo1Rockwell Collins


motorola solutions logo


Award Level

AVID Logo_2015_rgb (3)CompTIA_Logo_RGB (2)xerox








This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. HRD-1203121 and Grant No. DUE-1104163. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.